The Matto Law Firm
Seattle Criminal Defense Attorney Attorney Profile Criminal Defense Client Testimonials Contact Us
Charged with a DUI? Let me use my knowledge to fight for you. Get instructions on how, when and why to save your license. You need experienced, dedicated and focused representation.
Criminal Defense
DUI
DUI FAQ
Infraction Defense
Theft Crimes
Drug Charges
Sex Crimes
Felonies & Misdemeanors

Educate Yourself

DUI Consequences: Your License, Liberty, and Future

Criminal Ramifications of DUI

In the state of Washington, the criminal charge of DUI is classified as a gross misdemeanor and carries a maximum penalty of one year in jail and / or a fine of up to $5,000. The crime of DUI also has mandatory minimum penalties which prohibit the judges from going lower than predetermined penalties. These mandatory minimum penalties are laid out by the legislature and are based on certain factors. For a DUI, the factors that are taken into consideration when determining mandatory minimum sentences include:

  • The number of prior DUIs (or similar offenses) in the last seven years
  • Whether or not the defendant took the breath test
  • What the breath test results were
  • Whether the defendant refused to take a breath test

First-Offense DUI Criminal Penalties with Mandatory Minimum Sentences

  • Jail time: 24 hours up to 1 year or electronic home monitoring of 15 days. For blood alcohol concentration of .15 percent or more, jail time of 2 days up to 1 year or electronic home monitoring of 30 days.
  • Fines: $865 up to $5,000. For blood alcohol concentration of .15 percent or more, fines from $1,250 to $5,000.
  • License suspension: 90 days. For blood alcohol concentration of .15 percent or more, license suspension of one year.
  • Ignition Interlock Device and license. If passenger under 16 in vehicle at the time of arrest, an additional 60 days is required.
  • 3 years Washington SR22 insurance.
  • Potential alcohol / drug education or treatment.
  • Court probation up to 5 years.

Second-Offense DUI Criminal Penalties with Mandatory Minimum Sentences

  • Jail time: 30 days to one year or electronic home monitoring of mandatory 60 days. For blood alcohol concentration of .15 percent or above, jail time of 45 days to one year or electronic home monitoring of mandatory 90 days.
  • Fines: $1120 to $5,000. For blood alcohol concentration of .15 percent or above, $1545 to $5,000.
  • License Suspension: 2 years. For blood alcohol concentration of .15 percent or above, 900 days.
  • Ignition Interlock Device and license. Add 60 days if passenger under 16 in vehicle.
  • 3 years Washington SR22 insurance.
  • Potential alcohol / drug education or treatment.
  • Court probation up to 5 years.

Third-Offense DUI Criminal Penalties with Mandatory Minimum Sentences

  • Jail time: 90 days to one year or electronic home monitoring of mandatory 120 days. For blood alcohol concentration of .15 percent or above, jail time of 120 days to one year or electronic home monitoring of mandatory 150 days.
  • Fines: $1970 to $5,000. For blood alcohol concentration of .15 percent or above, $2820 to $5,000.
  • License Suspension: 3 years. For blood alcohol concentration of .15 percent or above, 4 years.
  • Ignition Interlock Device and license. Add 60 days if passenger under 16 in vehicle.
  • 3 years Washington SR22 insurance.
  • Potential alcohol / drug education or treatment.
  • Court probation up to 5 years.

Licensing Penalties of DUI from the Department of Licensing

If your breath test measures .08 percent or higher, you will be subjected to the following:

  • First DUI offense: 90 day license suspension.
  • Second or subsequent DUI offense: 2 year license suspension.
  • You will have 20 days from the date of your arrest to request a DOL hearing to challenge the suspension.
  • $200 hearing fee, $150 reissue fee.
  • Washington SR22 insurance required for 3 years.
  • Ignition Interlock Device and license are available.

There is light at the end of the tunnel. The Matto Law Firm, PLLC has conducted many motion hearings in DUI cases resulting in dismissals, suppression of evidence, and reduction in charges. In the event your case is not dismissed or reduced to a lesser charge, Seattle DUI attorney Matto is ready to take your case to trial in order to achieve the best possible outcome.

Name:
Email:
Phone:
Message:
Click here for our BAC Calculator.
Click here to read more criminal defense information on our blog.
Attorney Web Design

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Address: 119 First Ave South, Suite 500, Seattle, WA 98104 Phone: (253) 332-4879